UPDATE, 11:23p ET: Republicans will take control of the Senate, Fox News reports.

Fox News Insider had midterm election race results as they came in tonight.

Read the results below.

7p ET: Fox News projects that Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) has been re-elected.

If Republicans take the Senate this election, McConnell will likely seek to replace Harry Reid as the Senate majority leader.

Meanwhile, the Senate race in Virginia between Democrat incumbent Mark Warner and Republican Ed Gillespie is currently too close to call.

Stay with the Fox News Channel for the results of this surprising race.

Fox News also projects:

  • Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) will keep his seat against Democratic challenger Brad Hutto.
  • Republican Sen. Tim Scott has defeated Democrat Joyce Dickerson in South Carolina.

Fox News contributors weighed in on McConnell's win via Twitter:

7:31p ET: Republicans have gained a seat in the Senate as Shelley Moore Capito wins the West Virginia race.

This win marks the first time in West Virginia history that the state will send a female senator to Washington.

Meanwhile, the Senate race in North Carolina is too close to call.

8p ET: The Senate race in New Hampshire between incumbent Democrat Jeanne Shaheen and Republican challenger Scott Brown is too close to call.

Stay with Fox News Channel for updates on the key Senate race.

Republican incumbents won re-election in the following states:

  • Sen. Thad Cochran kept his seat in Mississippi.
  • Sen. Lamar Alexander easily won in Tennessee.
  • Sen. Susan Collins kept her seat in Maine.
  • Sen. Jeff Sessions ran unopposed in Alabama, keeping his seat.
  • Sen. Jim Inhofe kept his seat in Oklahoma.

In Oklahoma, Republican James Lankford beat Democrat Connie Johnson to fill the seat vacated by Sen. Tom Coburn.

Democratic incumbents who will keep their Senate seats are: Illinois Sen. Dick Durbin, New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker, and Massachusetts Sen. Ed Markey.

8:25p ET: Incumbent Jack Reed will keep his Senate seat in Rhode Island, Fox News projects.

8:45p ET: Fox News projects Republican Rep. Tom Cotton will defeat incumbent Democratic Sen. Mark Pryor in Arkansas. This is the second Senate seat that Republicans have gained tonight.

9p ET: Republican Mike Rounds has defeated Democrat Rick Weiland in the Senate race in South Dakota, the third pick-up for Republicans in the battle for control of the Senate.

9:39p ET: Fox News projects Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) wins re-election against Republican challenger Scott Brown.

The Senate race between Democratic incumbent Mary Landrieu and Republican challenger Bill Cassidy in Louisiana will go to a runoff on Dec. 6.

9:55p ET: Republicans have picked up a fourth Senate seat as Fox News projects that Republican Cory Gardner has defeated incumbent Democratic Colorado Sen. Mark Udall.

10p ET: Fox News projects Republican Steve Daines has defeated Democrat Amanda Curtis in the Senate race in Montana, the GOP's fifth Senate pickup of the night.

10:50p ET: Fox News has called the Senate race in Kansas for Republican Pat Roberts.

11p ET: Fox News calls the Senate race in Georgia for Republican David Perdue, defeating Democrat Michelle Nunn.

11:23p ET: Fox News projects that Republican Joni Ernst has defeated Democrat Bruce Braley in the Senate race in Iowa, which means the GOP will take control of the Senate.

11:29p ET: Fox News projects Thom Tillis will oust Democratic incumbent North Carolina Sen. Kay Hagan.